Questions/Concerns So Far?

Up to this point in The Story, we’ve been forced to wrestle with some pretty difficult issues in relation to God and his working in and around his people.  Expulsion, destruction, child sacrifices, genocide, murder, war, disease, famine, etc. have all been included up to date in The Story.  I don’t want to pretend that these issues aren’t there.  They are and they have caused me to pause more than once…and will continue to do so.  Before moving forward in the journey, I’d like to get some information from you.

Remember back in The Story when we followed a man named Jacob.  Remember when God changed his name to Israel after he spent a night wrestling with God.  Wrestling with God is not a bad thing, in fact it’s something we should do.  Some of us may believe that doubt is the antithesis of faith, but that is not the case.  The two go together.  Our wrestling produces a faith within us, so don’t be afraid to question.  Our church is a safe place for wrestlers on this journey.  If you think I’m lying, hop over to my blog and read some of the things I’ve questioned.  That said, what are you thinking right now in The Story?

Are you finding it hard to read these stories with your kids?  Are you finding it hard to believe that a loving God would do some of the things we are reading about?  Do you find yourself confused a little…or a lot?  Before I move to Chapter Six, I am going to post a response to some of the questions you may have, so here is where I need your help.

SEND ME AN EMAIL WITH ANY QUESTIONS/CONCERNS THAT YOU HAVE RELATED TO YOUR READING OF THE STORY.  Click Here to send the email.

I realize that posting a question in this format may be a little intimidating, so please email me your questions and I’ll do my best to offer up a thought out response here in my next post.  I am a wrestler, too, though, so know that now.  I ask a lot more questions than I have answers.  I hope that doesn’t bother you.  We are on this journey together.

One thought on “Questions/Concerns So Far?

  1. I am wrestler too Brad. Being a wrestler means you are engaged in the process; that you haven’t “copped out” or opted for the easy way out by not investigating and thinking things through. There are those (both within/without the church) that think by now we should have it all figured out. I don’t have all the answers (and neither do they for that matter) for all the questions regarding Christianity and my faith, but I am settled on the basics. I like Paul’s comment on this aspect of our faith from 1 Corinthians 13:12, especially the Message version: “We don’t yet see things clearly. We’re squinting in a fog, peering through a mist. But it won’t be long before the weather clears and the sun shines bright! We’ll see it all then, see it all as clearly as God sees us, knowing him directly just as he knows us!” Just as the body of known science is incomplete and cannot answer all the questions we have for the natural world, and can only speculate, theorize, postulate about that which is unknown, so too is it with our faith. There are things I know and things I don’t, and things I think I know, and others that I would be lying if I didn’t confess that I am just shooting in the dark on.
    Examples:
    (Things I don’t know) The story of Abraham and Isaac and the sacrifice is still hard for me to grasp. I know all the theological explanations about faith in God and Him providing etc… but most seem a bit contrived. This story just doesn’t sit well with me. Historically, child sacrifice was something the pagan religions did. Why would God ask that of Abraham? And why don’t we get more insight into Abraham’s mindset? I can’t even imagine the turmoil within me if I was asked that about my son. We would lock somebody up in a rubber room if they did this today. And why is it that God provides something for me, and then seems to prick my heart to give it away? Why is it I just can’t be left to enjoy that provision? Some might argue that is just my guilt complex, but I don’t think it is that simple. I don’t get these things.
    (Things I think I know) As far as creation goes, I believe it was done by the Omniscient, Omnipresent, Omnipotent God. One reason that I think I know is that I believe the very DNA that so fascinates and absorbs the scientific world speaks of a creator. DNA has been entitled the code of life. Life is based on the ability of all living cells to convert the genetic information in DNA, into the specific sequences of amino acids that make up the proteins that are the cell’s workhorses. DNA is not merely a molecule with a pattern; it is a code, a language, and an information storage mechanism. All codes are created by a conscious mind; there is no natural process known to science that creates coded information. Therefore DNA was designed by a mind. I didn’t originate those thoughts. They come from a long running discussion regarding Information Theory as an argument for intelligent design. I don’t grasp all the particulars of DNA, but this is one argument that helps me make sense of creation as opposed to the whole ‘we just evolved’ theory.
    (Things I know) God loves me and sent His son to die in my place for my sins (John 3:16). I wasn’t there, and didn’t see it with my own eyes, but I know beyond a shadow of a doubt that His love and grace and righteousness caused Him to set in motion a plan that would forever provide for the restoration of my relationship with Him that was marred and broken by sin. This is something that is settled in my heart.
    Some might argue the classifications/distinctions that I made, but they are where I am at.

So...what do you think?

